January 20, 2021 Presidential Orders

The following are the only actions President Biden has taken since January 20, 2021.

  • Deportations* were paused for 100 days (starting January 22), with some exceptions, and new enforcement policies will be adopted.
  • Travel bans** barring entry for nationals of certain Muslim-majority and African nations were revoked.
  • Deferred Enforced Departure (DED) protection was extended for Liberian nationals until June 30, 2022.
  • Enrollments in the Migrant Protection Protocols that keep asylum seekers waiting in Mexico were suspended — but it is unclear how cases will be handled at the border.

* On Jan. 26, a district court temporarily prevented the government from implementing the 100-day pause.

** The travel bans applied to nationals from Burma, Eritrea, Iran, Kyrgyzstan, Libya, Nigeria, North Korea, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Tanzania, Venezuela, and Yemen.

NOTE: This situation remains fluid and policies can shift rapidly.

Please do not hesitate to contact a U.S. licensed lawyer or accredited representative for more information. Also, until Congress passes new legislation and the President signs it into law, there are NO NEW OPTIONS for people to obtain legal status. Please take care with any rumors you may hear or promises non-licensed nor accredited individuals might tell you.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *